Manatee County Public Library System


Our award-winning Manatee County Public Library (MCPLS) system received awards in 2016 of Florida Library of the Year, Employee of the Year, Outstanding Friends, Foundation or Board Member Award and Betty Davis Miller Youth Services Award (Teen Recycled Fashion Show). In 2014 , the MCPLS won the Maria Chavez-Hernandez Libraries Change People’s Lives Award; in 2013 MCPLS won the Innovation Award in Florida and the Betty Davis Miller Youth Services Award (Mana-Con Comics Convention).

In 1985, some very wise, concerned citizens formed the Library Foundation, Inc. to provide supplemental funds to enable the Library to better serve the community with more books and materials.  Since then, our monies have helped propel the Library into the digital age, upgrading our programming and outreach to all, expanding minds of all ages with exposure to STEAM, (science, technology, engineering, art, and math), while reintroducing  the fun of language, of activities,and entertainment at no cost. Learn more about the programs sponsored by The Library Foundation by clicking here.

As Andrew Carnegie understood, our libraries are equalizers.  Of course, now that the baton has been passed from our founders to us, we  take very seriously our job to oversee how we spend, manage  and generate  these precious dollars to sustain our Library now and in the future.  To aid in our support of the libraries, click on the Giving Partner link for more information about how to give to the Manatee Library Foundation. Sign-up to receive updates about upcoming events and Library Foundation news by filling out our mailing list form at the bottom of the page.

The Giving Partner Sarasota Florida



The Officer positions of the Foundation are President, Vice Present, Treasurer, and Secretary.

SherryTinyPresident – Sherry Oehler

Sherry’s career and business endeavors offer her opportunities to build lifetime friendships on many continents. She feels that public libraries are the door to the world for everyone. Growing up in Minnesota, her Mother was a Branch Manager at a Carnegie Library in her hometown. She believes this is what allowed her to become an avid reader at a very young age. Sherry collects cookbooks and has more than 500 on her bookshelves.


                              Vice President – Susan Wilcox


jen-messal-manatee-library Treasurer – Jennifer Messal

With over 15 years in public accounting, Jennifer recently joined CS&L CPAs Bradenton office as a Tax Senior Manager. Newly relocated to Manatee County with her husband and two elementary-age children, she is eager to be a part of the Library Foundation. Jennifer believes public libraries serve a vital role in all communities and she looks forward to serving Manatee County Library Foundation.

Lisa More

Secretary – Lisa Moore

Lisa Moore is a real estate attorney in Bradenton, Florida. She has concentrated her practice in the areas of residential and commercial real estate, leasing, and general corporate representations.






The business and affairs of the foundation are managed and exercised by or under the authority of the board.


Ms. Ava Ehde, Ex Officio

Mr. George Barford, Esq.

Ms. Annette Burdick, Ex Officio

Ms. Jaymie Carter

Ms. Cheri Coryea, Ex Officio

Ms. Toni Comito

Ms. Suzie Dobbs

Mr. Darren Haimer

Ms. Peg Kmak, Ex Officio

Ms. Jennifer Messal

Ms. Lisa Gonzalez Moore, Esq.

Ms. Sherry Oehler

Ms. Doris Pope, Ex Officio

Mr. Chris Romine

Honorable Charles Smith, Ex Officio

Ms. Heather Sniffen

Ms. Leah Stuart

Ms. Ginny Upshaw, Ex Officio

Ms. Artis Wick, Ex Officio

Ms. Susan Wilcox